Eleven restaurants from Basque Country enter “Soles Repsol” award-winning list

The Gala was at the San Telmo Museum in San Sebastian

The San Telmo Museum in San Sebastian witnessed the delivery gala of the Repsol 2020 Suns, a recognition for fine chefs. And that’s something we know well in the Basque Country.

In fact, Sonia Pérez Ezquerra, director of Tourism, Trade and Consumer Affairs, said at the start of the gala that “it is not uncommon to be held in the Basque Country” since “gastronomy is one of the greatest signs of our identity”

These words were soon ratified thanks to the new eleven soles obtained by so many other restaurants in the Basque Country: Arrea! (Kanpezu), Bailara (Bidania-Goiatz), Bodega Katxiña (Orio), Casa Garras (Karrantza), Casa Julián – Matías Gorrotxategi (Tolosa), Félix Manso Ibarla (Irun), Galerna Jan-Edan (San Sebastián), Ganbara (San Sebastian), Iraeta (Zestoa), Kirkilla Enea (Zarautz) and Porrue (Bilbao).

These eleven restaurants add to the nearly sixty distinguished in previous editions of the guide’s awards, some of them with three suns, as is the case of Azurmendi, Etxebarri and Nerua.